five non blondes


Vacation blues
February 17, 2008, 8:44 pm
Filed under: environmental issues | Tags: ,

p1020709.jpg

I must say I’m feeling a little depressed as I look outside at another cold & cloudy day here in NEPA. I  recently returned from a fantastic week long vacation to some warmer weather; Samana, Tortola, St. Thomas, and the Great Stirrup Cay to be exact. I had to post a beach picture of where we were because it looks so much nicer than the bare trees and dirty snow piles that dot the landscape here.The return to cold weather isn’t the only thing that I found a little depressing once we returned. My husband and I decided to take our first cruise (thus the variety of destinations we hit in a week) and despite it being very relaxing, fun, and different it was also very wasteful. I know I have to admit I loved the laundered sheets and daily fresh towels but the exorbitant amount of food and other practices made me wonder how much energy was expended in that short amount of time. While on the ship we had an interesting conversation with another couple onboard who stated they recently watched a documentary or show that talked about the very poor fuel consuptiom large cruise ships get; the statistics they quoted were shocking. While I haven’t been able to track down that documentary. I have found other articles on the lack of ‘greenness’ of the ship industry. It was a wonderful vacation and provided some much needed rest but I think we’ll try another mode of travel next time. Too bad my husband and I aren’t into biking. That has to be one of the greeenest modes of transportation. http://responsibletravel.blogspot.com/2008/02/shipping-accounts-for-twice-as-much-co2.html 

Jackie, Wilkes-Barre 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

