five non blondes


Kiwi Top 5
April 30, 2008, 11:14 pm
Filed under: travel | Tags: , , , ,

Everyone asks what my favorite part of the trip was.  That’s pretty hard to say, but I’ve tried to narrow things down for you.  So, here are the highlights:

5. Friends-

 There’s nothing better than having your own local guide to show you all the hidden treasures.  Vanessa was the perfect host.  She introduced us to the joys of jumping (see picture below) 🙂 and spurred all sorts of crazy adventures.  She was even brave enough to take us down a one lane, cliff hugging,  gravel road,with no guard rails, at the peak of the hills on the Christchurch peninsula.  I was scared to death and I wasn’t the one driving.  It’s just a good thing we didn’t run into anyone wanting to go the other direction! 

4. Cathedral Cove-

The iconic rock formation on the Cormandel Peninsula- It takes about 45 min. to walk down the trail to it and you can only cross through to the other beach at low tide.  The view was incredible.  I could have stood there, listening to the waves crash in for hours. 

 

3. Abel Tasman-

I’ve never seen sand so gold and sparkling turquoise water like there is in this national park.  We went on a 6-1/2 hr tramp along the coast and I wanted to take a picture at practically every turn.  Lunch on a secluded beach was the highlight.  I couldn’t believe there weren’t more people around.

2. Castle Hill-

There are no words for this place.  I felt like God was walking through fields of emptiness with a big arm full of gigantic rocks and he just dropped them all randomly in this one spot.  Apparently, the Dali Lama considers it to be one of the biggest centers of energy in the world.  There’s definitely something indescribable about the place and it brings people of all kinds- families, climbers, tourists, locals, spiritualists…there’s something for everyone here.

1. Cave Stream Walk-

It was by far the most exhilarating part of the trip and it tested my will in more ways than one.  The water was just barely above freezing and it was definitely above waist level at one point in time.  I’m pretty sure there were also fresh water eels swimming around our legs as well.  We were so cold that we almost didn’t go through with it, but Vanessa convinced us it would be worth it.  She was absolutely right.  It was unlike anything I’ve ever experienced before.  The cave was so beautiful!  I wish I could have taken pictures, but I didn’t want to risk dropping my camera in the water.  We had to climb up and out past a waterfall and into the light at the end of the tunnel.  It was amazing!

I was there for 2 weeks and barely scratched the surface.  Hopefully, I’ll get to go back someday.

 

-Rebecca, SF

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

