five non blondes


Wedding, weddings and more weddings.

I’m at that age where all of my friends are getting married, so starting now I feel like I have a wedding every other weekend until November.  Don’t take me the wrong way, I’m not bitter because I’m not married yet, nor am I that cynical person that dreads going to weddings…I love weddings! 🙂 However, I’m so tired of wasting all of that paper on wrapping gifts! So, in the midst of purchasing all my wedding gifts for the summer, I’ve been doing a little research on recycled wrapping paper and alternative gift wrapping ideas. Below are a couple of things I came up with….

1–Recycled Paper: These fabulous designs in the picture above come from Fish Lips Paper Design, which I am now in love with!  Not only are these unique and fun designs, they are printed with non-toxic soy based inks on 100% post consumer recycled paper! 

2–Tree Free Paper:Not just your pressed paper with dried flowers, but handmade paper, typically made in other countries such as Nepal are available in woven grass, lokta, tree bark, banana fiber, spun silk, and recycled rag.  A wide selection of these globally made papers can be found at Paper Mojo.

3–Fabric: To add a personal touch, wrap your gift in fabric.  The wrapping job could even be part of the gift if it were something like a tablecloth, napkin, or pillow case. The Japanese have wrapping techniques, similar to origami where you can learn the art at http://furoshiki.com/techniques.php#basic_wrap.

4–Tape:  If you choose to wrap with paper, keep your packages secure with tape that’s free of polyvinyl chloride (PVC), which releases carcinogenic dioxins when produced. Some good choices would include clear cellulose tape and recycled, gummed paper tape.

5–Get Creative: Last but not least, save some cash and use your creative side.  Use things around the house to do the wrapping such as colorful magazine ads, the comics section of the today’s paper, and old maps. To add some flare you could add old buttons, flower petals, fabric or shoe laces for ribbons, and cutouts of any decorative paper you have lying around.

I hope these 5 tips come in handy next time you have a wedding, birthday party, or even Mother’s Day coming up this weekend.  Not only will you be helping out the environment, but I promise the person receiving the gift will feel extra special for putting so much effort into it. 🙂

K E L S E Y – – v a i l , c o l o r a d o

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] Pictures from dvice.com, the artful crafter, the chawed rosin, and 5 non blondes […]

Pingback by What Holiday Items Can’t be Recycled? « Easy Going Green




Leave a Reply

