five non blondes


hometown hit
June 13, 2008, 11:01 am
Filed under: who we are

I awoke Thursday morning going through my morning routine when over the radio I heard a quick news update on a small town that had at least 60% of it’s town desroyed and 2 confirmed deaths due to a tornado. As I heard the announcer say Chapman, KS I was shocked!

I immediately called my parents to see if what I had heard was correct. It was. I have been pretty distracted since then. This is the small town I am so familiar with. It was a town of approximately 1,400 people that contained an elementary, middle, and high school that are attached to so many memories for me. I didn’t live in town  except for 3 months while our house was being built but I spent so much time there through school, friends, and church.  it was a community made up of one flashing light and a thriving school district from surrounding smaller rural schools.

It was one of those places that just didn’t change. The post office and schools were about all contained life but it’s still been hard to see pictures of things or places that now look so different. Thankfully all of the friends and families that I grew up with are safe.

I thought I’d post a few pictures of the town that hopefully will be rebuilt and improved. It’s amazing how powerful nature is. What energy to harness if we ever figure out how to tap into that resource. Despite living in the east it’s pretty safe to say my heart is still in the mid-west right now.

-Jackie, W-B

 

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

