five non blondes


Simple Sewing
August 3, 2008, 2:06 pm
Filed under: DIY, fashion | Tags: , , , ,

My mom’s a home-ec teacher, so I grew up making little projects all the time, but for some reason never made it much past pillows and a few vests.  Over the past couple of years, I renewed my interest in sewing and decided to really step it up and see if I could make my own clothes.  I started out small, taking a basic class at Stitch Lounge.  It’s an amazing little studio where you can take sewing classes or even rent machines/studio time by the hour.  It was actually the first one of its kind in the nation.  Unfortunately, I think they’ve made enough money off of the books they write, that they’re going into early retirement, but supposedly there are many more places like them now for you to choose from. 

I graduated from there to a few patterns in Lotta Jansdotter’s Simple Sewing.  The book comes with all the patterns and the instructions are very easy to understand.  I highly recommend it! 

After a few of those projects, I finally felt ready to take on some real clothing.  I’d gathered a pretty large collection of my mom and aunt’s vintage patterns from their high school days when they made all their own clothes.  I picked one and headed to a wonderful little fabric store called Peapod Fabrics out in the Inner Sunset.  They have so many beautiful prints and all the prices were affordable, so it was hard to make a choice.  I finally settled on this super bright, vintage looking pattern that I thought would fit my dress quite well.  I’m excited to report that I just finished the dress and it turned out nice enough to actually wear in public!  Success!  I have to say, it feels pretty cool wearing something you made yourself and I had a lot of fun doing it.  After I make a few more things from patterns,the next step is both designing and making my own clothes. 

Rebecca_SF

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

i enjoy the model pose, inspired by the woman in the red dress on the “simplicity” package. great dress!

Comment by Michael

Cute dress!! Where did you get your fabric?? I love it!

Comment by 5nonblondes

I like it! 🙂 Nice job

Comment by Dad

5 non blondes,
I am a student at the University of Colorado at Boulder currently creating a project to encourage green giving this winter. We are looking to host a recycled fashion show, an art gallery, and a market of vendors selling eco-friendly products.
If you have any questions, and want to get involved I can send you much more detail!
Please contact me at Dovile.soblinskas@colorado.edu or all at 708 307 9351
We are looking to get a variety of fashion, art, and products at our event on December 4th, 2008 so please feel free to pass this information on to anyone who would be interested.
Thank you so much,
Dovile Soblinskas

Comment by Dovile Soblinskas




Leave a Reply

